Writer Wednesday: CJ Wright

CJ Wright Books

Books by CJ Wright

Today’s Writer Wednesday features British author and publishing coach CJ Wright. He and I exchanged Q&A’s (you can find my interview here) so I’m super-excited to welcome him to my blog today. Read on for more information about his books, and make sure to follow him on social media. The links you need are below!

Let’s start with a little bit about you. Where are you from?

I was born in Birmingham in the UK, but now live in a small town about 20 miles away from there. It’s a really old town with plenty of ghost stories, so it makes a great backdrop for writing horror fiction.

What’s one thing people might not expect about you?

One thing most people might not expect about me is that I am disabled. I have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (EDS type 3). It has been getting worse over the past few years, making writing difficult. I had to stop for about three years, but now I’m getting back into the swing of things again and have plenty of ideas for stories.

Tell me about your writing and editing processes.

I usually have a basic plot idea and know where I want to go from and get to, and I plot a loose journey between the two. Though I let the characters take control once writing starts and the finished result is always different from how I first envisioned it. It takes about a year or so from start to finish to write and edit a book, depending on the size or the writing project and how my health is.

What inspired you to self-publish your first novel, Ritual of Blood?

I published it with a small press traditional publisher and I hated what they did with it, so once I got the publishing rights back I decided to do Ritual of Blood the way I wanted. From then on I decided to self-publish all my books as I have far more control over them.

What has your experience been like as an indie author?

It’s been pretty good. Hard work, but pretty good. I just hope that people read my books and enjoy them.

You’re currently working on a sequel to your novel Falling Star, entitled Rising Star. Can you describe this series in one sentence?

Not without giving away some major plot twists. They are the first two parts of a trilogy, the final book is called Shooting Star.

You’re also working on the third book in your Vampire Hunter Trilogy, called Wampyre’s Gate, you provide writing and editing services, and you have a publishing imprint called Dark Crucible Publishing. What are your long-term goals for all of your endeavors?

My own goals are to just produce my own work, but I am also available if someone wants help with their writing projects. I’d like to publish other authors work through Dark Crucible, and I am open to any book proposals.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Read a lot and write a lot. It’s what I learned from Stephen King, and it’s pretty much the best advice I’ve found. Along with, don’t aspire to be a writer, be a writer.

What book(s) are you currently reading?

I have a few books on the go at the same time until one of them grips me completely and I mainly read that one. At the moment I’m reading The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty, Blacklisted by Luke Romyn and The Bones of You by Debbie Howells.

Huge thanks to CJ Wright! Follow him on social media for news about his upcoming releases.

TWITTER          FACEBOOK          WEBSITE          BLOG          AMAZON

Ritual of BloodRitual of Blood (Vampire Hunter Trilogy Book 1)

Edgewich, England – 1873. After the body of a young girl is found in the woods near her home, and with the majority of the search party sent to find her now missing, the Mayor of the small town sends for a ‘Vampire Hunter’.

He was the best there had ever been. But he had not been out on a hunt for three years, not since the death of the woman he loved, Mary. He was told that this was a simple investigation – find out if vampires were responsible for the girl’s death, and if so, deal with them. The investigation was simple, too simple.

He found that it was just a small piece to the fulfillment of a 2000 year old prophecy in which his part was vital. Now, not knowing who he can trust, including his own ability, not only to destroy the vampires, but also to love the young woman he finds himself becoming attracted to. He must race to London to stop the vampires from having the power to walk in the sunlight and enslave the human race. He must stop the Feast of Dran Val Karlic – the Ritual of Blood.

Falling StarFalling Star

Fifteen year old Katie Jenkins has what her grandmother called a “gift” – an ability to see things that others can’t. Her grandmother taught her to harness her ability using Tarot cards, but after the old lady’s death, Katie begins to realise there is more to it than just predicting the future.

She meets a strange girl called Star, who has runaway to escape from an abusive home life, and is being followed at night by an evil shadowy figure called the Dark Man. He wants Star’s soul, and Katie knows she must not let that happen, whatever the cost.

Not fully understanding how, Katie must protect the physically and emotionally scarred Star from the Dark Man, and also help to bring out into the open the real reason Star left her home, before it is too late.

RGM Pickwick CricusThe Ramton Gallow Mysteries: The Amazing Pickwick Circus

It’s been a few months since Daniel Grade and his friends tackled Miss Sanderson, a soul stealing succubus who had disguised herself as their Art teacher, and all has been quiet in Ramton Gallow. Now, as the annual town celebrations loom on the horizon the mysterious Mr Pickwick and his amazing circus come to town, and everything is once again not all it seems.

Free on Kindle Unlimited.

CJ WrightC J Wright has had a fascination with all sorts of horror fiction since childhood, and it has been the driving force of his desire to write. After meeting Sue Townsend, the author of the Adrian Mole books, at the age of eight, he longed to be a writer.

Published Works:

Ritual of Blood (2003, revised 2nd edition in 2009)
Killing Time (2004, revised 2nd edition in 2013)
The Ramton Gallow Mysteries: The Witch of Primrose Hill (2009)
Falling Star (2010)
The Shadowing Coven (2014)
The Ramton Gallow Mysteries: The Amazing Pickwick Circus (2016)

Thanks for reading! If you have questions for CJ, leave them below. If you would like to be featured on Writer Wednesday, send me an email at cassidytaylorauthor@gmail.com.

Tune in next week for another great writer. <3 Cassidy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.